Life

Wisdom Tooth Out

I went to have  a wisdom tooth extracted today. It wasn’t impacted, but it was buccoverted, meaning that whenever I bite down it cuts into the inside of my mouth.

Initially I was under the impression that the surgery would involve incision, having the tooth broken into smaller bits, and stitches. Instead, my tooth was just pulled out with a giant pair of forceps.

The worst part of the surgery was being injected (with anaesthetic). There is just something very unsettling about having a giant needle in your mouth. After the injection we talked about my university plans (archaeology). I almost wanted to  talk about how teeth are used in archaeological analysis, but was worried that the anaesthetic might have worn off by the time I was through.

The whole procedure took about 2-3 minutes.

16806965_1406130169407040_3965223469746210651_n

The surgery cost quite a bit (RM110) but it can be done for a couple ringgit at a government hospital. I can’t drive so I tend to pick clinics within walking distance. Apparently I’v

The wound gets irritated whenever I swallow or move I was told that I can basically eat whatever I want, but am finding it difficult to eat anything more solid than tapai, and even that is a bit of a challenge.

Leave a Reply

